saps banner
2021/11/02      |  Written By:  Colonel A Myburgh   |   Province:  North West

POTCHEFSTROOM:30 October 2021 - The Provincial Commissioner of North West, Lieutenant General Sello Kwena, welcomed the sentences handed down this week to four accused for two separate incidences following excellent investigative work by members of Vehicle Crime Investigation Unit (VCIU) in the Dr Kenneth Kaunda District.  

In the first incident, reported on Saturday evening, 19 January 2019, in Jouberton, Gauta Humphrey Gwambe (38) and Tebogo Pinampi Mlangeni (36), hijacked a man, driving a Volkswagen Fox. Later the same night, they committed a housebreaking in La Hoff, Klerksdorp and dumped the owner of the vehicle in Joubeton, after making numerous stops. Excellent investigation by Warrant Officer Nico Cilliers, led to the identification and eventual arrest of the duo who were both found guilty on charges of robbery, kidnapping, housebreaking and theft.

On Wednesday, 27 October 2021, the accused were sentenced by the Klerksdorp Regional Court as follows:

Gauta Humphrey Gwambe – Ten years imprisonment

Tebogo Pinampi Mlangeni - Eight years imprisonment.

Both accused were declared unfit to possess firearms in terms of Section 103 of the Firearms Control Act, 2000 (Act No. 60 of 2000).

In a second unrelated incident in Wolmaransstad, Thembalam Archibold Phakane (53) and Kopane Jan Mohaso (38), stole a Volkswagen Golf in Broadbent Street on Sunday evening, 16 June 2019. The following day, a tip-off received from a community member, led the police to an address in Makwassie where the accused were apprehended.  In addition, the stolen vehicle was recovered. Through thorough investigative work by Sergeant Tebogo Morake, both accused were found guilty for theft of motor vehicle and sentenced by the Wolmaransstad Regional Court on Wednesday, 27 October as follows:

Thembalam Archibold Phakane - 5 years imprisonment

Kopano Jan Mohaso - 5 years imprisonment

Both accused were also declared unfit to possess firearms in terms of Section 103 of the Firearms Control Act, 2000 (Act No. 60 of 2000).

The Provincial Commissioner applauded the Investigating Officers, WO Nico Cilliers and Sgt Tebogo Morake and all other role players, including prosecution for their diligence in ensuring that the accused were sentenced.      

Sgt Tebogo Morake.