saps banner
2022/11/14      |  Written By:  Lieutenant Colonel TC Litabe   |   Province:  Northern Cape

The South African Police Service in the Northern Cape, hosted the Excellence Award Ceremony in recognition  of its brightest stars in the province.  The event was held at the  3SAI  Infantry Military Base in Roodepan in Kimberley on Friday 11 November 2022 at 17:30.

Members from different components, units and stations across the province, hang up their boots for the evening and attended the elegant and prestigious ceremony.

It is not every day that  police work is  appreciated but the Provincial Commissioner of the Northern Cape, Lieutenant General Koliswa Otola deemed it fit to recognize all the hard working men and women in blue for their commitment and outstanding performance during the 2022/2022 financial year.

The mood was calm and relaxed and was matched by the theme for the evening  black, gold and white.   

What made the evening extra special and  joyful was the beautiful, soft and classy music that was rendered by the SAPS Provincial Jazz band.

Clad in their their elegant evening attire , the nominees were celebrated in the presence of the MEC for Transport, Safety and Liaison Ms Nomandla Bloem, Divisional Commissioner of SAPS Human Resources,  Lieutenant General Lineo Ntsiea, Provincial Commissioner of the Northern Cape Lt Gen Koliswa Otola, Public Service Commissioner in the Northern Cape Mr Anele Gxoyiya,  Provincial Commissioners from other provinces and  other dignitaries that included two former retired Provincial Commissioners of the Northern Cape, Lt Gen J Basson and Lt Gen RP Shivuri.

The Awards comprised of 33 categories namely;

Programme 1: Administration 

Administration Employee of the Year

1. Level 1-4 Cleaner ZS Mekile

2. Level 5-7 Admin Clerk NR Kaars

3. Level 8-12 Captain L Jacobuson

Administration Team of the Year

Provincial Corporate Communication & Liaison 

Programme 2:Vispol and Operations

1. Level 5-7 Sergeant SD Opperman

Programme 3: Detective Services

Employee of the Year

1. Level 5-7 Sgt JAM Tyers 

Family violence, Child protection and Sexual offences 

1. Level 5-7 Warrant Officer KG Semetsa

2. Level 8-12 Lieutenant Colonel MT Strydom

Special Category 

Senior Manager of the Year (Operations)

1. Brigadier HA van Rensburg

Senior Manager of the Year(Administration)

1. Brigadier ME Coghlan

Station Commander of the Year

1. Lt Col R Ndou

Station of the Year

1. Prieska

Reservist of the Year

1. Constable RRJ van Wyk

 Community Policing Forum of the Year

1. Kimberley CPF

Employee of the Year-Person with Disability

1. Lt Col Sebolai 

National Components

Employee of the Year 

1. Level 5-7 Const Dlephu

Criminal Record and Crime Scene Management
1. Level 5-7 W/O RL Vries

Protection and Security Services

1. Level 5-7 Senior Administration Clerk MK January 

2. Level 8-12 Capt EJ Smit

Woman of the Year

1. Sgt WA Williams 

Sportswoman of the Year

1. Sgt KM Masilo

Sportsman of the Year

1. Colonel AA Alberts

Provincial Commissioner's Awards

1. Deputy Provincial Commissioner, Major General H de Waal 

The Keynote address was delivered by MEC Bloem, who delivered a heartwarming congratulatory message to the winners. 

The event was made possible with the generous and valuable sponsorships by various companies and local businesses and government authorities.

What a beautiful ceremony and congratulations to all the winners!


What a beautiful ceremony and congratulations to all the winners!
What a beautiful ceremony and congratulations to all the winners!