Links FAQ's
saps banner
Free State performed well at the SAPS National Excellence Awards

Media Statement
South African Police Service
Office of the Provincial Commissioner Free State

BLOEMFONTEIN - The Provincial Commissioner of the Police in the Free State, Lieutenant General Baile Motswenyane, extends her heartfelt congratulations to the exceptional individuals recognized at the 9th Annual Excellence Awards that was held in Midrand, Gauteng last night.

These awards signify not only outstanding performance but also a steadfast commitment to upholding the highest standards of service and professionalism in the South African Police Service. Each recipient has demonstrated exemplary dedication, integrity, and leadership in their respective roles, embodying the core values of our organization.

Lieutenant Colonel Junior Santi from the Tactical Response Unit Bloemfontein not only won the category for the High Risk Member of the Year (Level 8 - 12), but also walked away with the Laureate Award which includes a brand new vehicle.

Constable Mathaha Lekhooa from the Navalsig Detectives not only won in the Police Minister's Special Award Category, but also earned the rank of Warrant Officer.  He was recognised for his diligent investigative work in a high profile case.

Captain Pieter Drury from Bloemfontein POP Unit won the category for Medium Risk Member of the year (Level 8 - 12)

Captain Drury is deployed as an operational commander at the illicit mining operation “knock out” in the province. Through Captain Drury’s proper planning and command of members under his command, the operation managed to arrest 1936 suspects in 892 reported cases.

"We are immensely proud of their achievements and the positive impact they have made within our community. Their unwavering dedication to duty serves as an inspiration to their colleagues and reflects the spirit of excellence that defines our organisation. On behalf of the entire Free State SAPS, I commend each award recipient for their exceptional contributions and extend our deepest gratitude for their continued service and commitment to public safety. Congratulations once again to all the winners. Your accomplishments are truly deserving of this recognition," conclude Lt Gen Motswenyane.


Brigadier Motantsi Makhele
082 466 7396

X (Twitter):


Additional content:
  • 9.jpg
  • 11.jpg
  • 7.jpg
  • 8.jpg
  • 12.jpg
  • 13.jpg
  • 6.jpg
  • 5.jpg
  • 10.jpg